Sound Session #443 (12-8-13)

Posted in Episodes, Sound Session on December 15th, 2013 by Hyphen


Apologies for another late archive of SNSS, but I was running around crazy last week in NYC for the day job and didn’t get a chance to toss this up.  Shout to everyone I ran into in the Big Apple, especially Lee (Warner), JJ (Foundation), and Jess (CoSign), who have been supporting me from waaaaay back in the college radio days and continue to be some of my favorite folks in the whole biz.  Appreciate y’all!

LA folks, headed your way this week so holler at me if you want to catch up!

For this week’s episode, we played new cuts from artists like Action Bronson, Sean Price, A$AP Mob, Kanin, YG Hootie, Nipsey Hussle, Alina Baraz, 21, Wiley, Joey Bada$$, Tinashe, 7 Days Of Funk, and more.  Lots of good music here.  We were also joined in studio by yet another talented up and coming MC from Seattle (we’re producing those for fun these days), Donte Peace.  Watch out for this kid and enjoy the show!

Show #443 (12-8-13)

  1. Action Bronson & Party Supplies – “Rolling Thunder”
  2. Sean Price & M-Phazes – “Dump In The Gut”
  3. A$AP Mob ft. A$AP Nast & Method Man – “Trillmatic”
  4. Drake – “Wu-Tang Forever”
  5. Wu-Tang Clan – “It’s Yourz” (Throwback of the Week)
  6. Kanin ft. Kendrick Lamar – “Winner Circle”
  7. YG Hootie ft. Kendrick Lamar – “Two Presidents”
  8. Nipsey Hussle ft. J. Stone – “All Get Right”
  9. Leezy Soprano ft. Kokane – “Just That Type” (Local Music)
  10. 7 Days of Funk (Dam-Funk & Snoop Dogg) – “I’ll Be There 4U”
  12. Donte Peace – “Remember ‘97” (Local Music)
  14. Jhene Aiko ft. Childish Gambino – “Bed Peace”
  15. Childish Gambino ft. Jhene Aiko – “Pink Toes”
  16. Tinashe ft. Travis Scott – “Vulnerable”
  17. Alina Baraz & Galimatias – “Make You Feel”
  18. Made In Heights – “Death” (Local Music)
  19. 21 – “Smoker’s Redemption”
  20. MeLo-X – “Break From Flatbush”
  21. Wiley ft. Andreena Mill – “Born In The Cold”
  22. Justin Timberlake ft. J. Cole, A$AP Rocky, & Pusha T – “TKO (Black Friday Remix)”
  23. Joey Bada$$ – “Two Lips”

Link to download/stream the mp3 of the show –
(back up –
(2nd back up –

If there are any problems with the links or if you’d like to be added to our weekly email list to receive the playlist and download links after every show, just shoot me an email,

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Sound Session #417 (6-9-13)

Posted in Episodes, Sound Session on June 13th, 2013 by Hyphen


Back in effect for another week, shout to everyone we chopped it up with at Summer Jam over the weekend, especially J. Cole, Macklemore, Ryan Lewis, Lee (WMG), and Noah (UMG).  Great to catch up with the homies!

Check out this week’s episode of SNSS for new music from artists like Logic, Action Bronson, J. Cole, TLC, Travis Scott, Schoolboy Q, Lupe Fiasco, Naledge, Chuck Inglish, Yonas Michael, Tanya Morgan, Wu-Tang Clan, and more.  Plus, we were joined in studio by our long time friends, former KUBE 93 host Eddie Francis and local artist, who has since relocated to Los Angeles, Mr. Xquisit.  

Additionally, be sure to check out last month’s Cornerstone Mixtape that J. Moore and I did if you haven’t already.  You can download it here.


Show #417 (6-9-13)

  1. Logic – “Nasty”
  2. Action Bronson ft. LL Cool J & Action Bronson – “Strictly 4 My Jeeps (Remix)”
  3. Romaro Franceswa ft. Fearce – “Bounce” (Local Music)
  4. J. Cole ft. TLC – “Crooked Smile”
  5. Travis Scott – “Hell Of A Night”
  6. Schoolboy Q – “Yay Yay”
  7. Wale ft. Rick Ross & Lupe Fiasco – “Poor Decisions”
  8. ILLFIGHTYOU ft. JRM – “Fatal” (Local Music)
  9. Naledge – “Loving Niece”
  10. Chuck Inglish ft. Buddy & Jane Jupiter – “Dangerous”
  11. Yonas Michael – “Volvo”
  12. 2 Player Co-Op (Trackademicks & 1-O.A.K.) – “Someone Great”
  13. Fearce & BeanOne – “Outlandish” (Local Music)
  14. Tanya Morgan – “Whatever That’s Mine”
  15. J Shiltz ft. Twizzmatic & Jon Moxin – “Switch It Up”
  16. Reef The Lost Cauze & Haj (of Dumhi) – “92 Flow”
  17. Wu-Tang Clan – “Family Reunion”
  18. Kanye West – “Last Call” (Throwback of the Week)
  19. Joey Bada$$ – “Word Is Bond”

Link to download/stream the mp3 of the show –
(back up –
(2nd back up –

If there are any problems with the links or if you’d like to be added to our weekly email list to receive the playlist and download links after every show, just shoot me an email,

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

The Exactly presents Your New Favorite Mixtape

Posted in Artists, Mixtapes on August 8th, 2008 by Hyphen


Mr. Lee over at The Exactly has been putting in work on this mixtape for a minute, and it’s finally here for y’all.  I’ll let him describe the goal:

To every listener, fan, participant, artist, producer:

When I started this blog I did so believing that I could fill a gap where I thought something was missing. There were many artists I felt should be exposed, art, events, movies and funny things I wanted to share with as many people as possible. The idea of a mixtape came to mind during one of those wonderful moments where you’re thinking about all the things you COULD do with an outlet. Being that my moniker is “Your New Favorite…,” it was only right to name the mixtape “Your New Favorite Mixtape.” From its inception, the mixtape had to be something that represented what I felt the blog stood for, sharing DOPE SH*T with everybody! I didn’t want it to be a West Coast mixtape, underground Hip Hop mixtape or mainstream, I merely wanted to put songs that I thought were dope together in a package for people to bang. The process of putting together this mixtape has had its setbacks and delays, but I persisted and I can finally give it to ya’ll.

Good ish.  And if that’s not enough to convince you to download the mixtape, it features TAOD approved artists like U-N-I, Pacific Division, Shawn Jackson, Theo, Cool Kids, Now On, Blu, TiRon, Tunji, and many more.

Download it immediately right here.  Tracklisting after the jump. Read more »

Tags: , , ,