Sound Session #237 (12-13-09)

Posted in Artists, Episodes, Sound Session on December 15th, 2009 by Hyphen

Just because I like to share my technological frustrations with the world, here’s a quick update of the issues that have dominated my life the past 2 weeks:

  • PC: data saved (clutch!), hard drive reformatted, rebuilding slowly but up and running.
  • Mac: optical drive fixed, new studio monitors arrived and sounding great.
  • Blog: resolved issues, saved the whole database of past entries (double clutch!), slightly revised the look. “All black everything” – Jay-Z
  • Car battery: replaced.

See, even my car is bowing to the peer pressure and trying to fit in.  The way things are going, I’m surprised lights still turn on when I flip switches.  But anyway, looking positively and moving forward (“strikes and gutters dude“), I think we’re close to being back to normal.  Besides, as long as the episodes of SNSS aren’t affected, we’re all good right?

Peep this week’s show for new music from people like Wale, J. Cole, Pill, Freddie Gibbs, Clipse, AZ, Laws, Theophilus London, Nneka, Mos Def, Robin Thicke, the one and only Sade, and more.  Plus, we played a snippet of our recent interview with Nipsey Hussle.  While I work to post up the full version, you can always check our first conversation with him from a few months ago right here.  Enjoy!

Show #237 (12-13-09)

  1. Wale ft. J. Cole & Melanie Fiona – “Beautiful Bliss”
  2. Pill ft. Freddie Gibbs – “Run Up To Me”
  3. Clipse – “Freedom”
  4. Vinnie Paz ft. Clipse – “Street Wars”
  5. AZ – “I’m Ill”
  6. KRS-One & Buckshot ft. Talib Kweli & Geologic (of the Blue Scholars) – “Oh Really (Remix)”
  7. Laws ft. Jay Rock – “Number One”
  8. Budo & Krukid – “HalfPastHell” (Local Music)
  9. Theophilus London – “Humdrum Town”
  10. Kardinal Offishall – “We Gon’ Go”
  11. Brasco ft. Serani – “Money Train”
  12. Nneka ft. Jay Electronica – “Walking (J. Period Remix)”
  13. Sade – “Soldier Of Love”
  14. Mos Def – “Supermagic”
  16. Drake ft. Nipsey Hussle – “Killer”
  17. Freeway & Jake One – “Know What I Mean” (Local Music)
  18. CunninLynguists ft. Grieves, Geologic, & Macklemore – “Close Your Eyes” (Local Music)
  19. The Game – “Turn Off The Lights”
  20. Lupe Fiasco – “Popular Demand Freestyle”
  21. Robin Thicke ft. Jazmine Sullivan – “Million Dolla Baby”

Link to download the mp3 of the show –
(back up / streaming link – )

If there are any problems with the links or if you’d like to be added to our weekly email list to receive the playlist and download links after every show, just shoot me an email,

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

Robin Thicke – Sex Therapy (video)

Posted in Artists, Music Videos on December 13th, 2009 by Hyphen

Long story short: my PC caught a virus, the virus hacked this site, and then my Mac had issues all last week as well.  It’s taken me since then to finally get things back up and running, so apologies on the lack of updates for TAOD, but I think we might be back in business.  You’ll notice a slight redesign of the site too.  Looks a bit sleeker, eh?  “All black everything…”

Anyway, one of the few things keeping me sane throughout the madness has been Robin Thicke’s new album, Sex Therapy.  Despite some corny lyrics here and there, it’s a strong effort throughout and there are some really dope standouts.  Peep the video for the title track above, “produced” by Polow Da Don…not mad at this at all, especially @ the scene starting around 1:22. Hello.

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

AC – New Soul (video)

Posted in Artists, Joints, Music Videos on July 15th, 2008 by Hyphen

I played this joint a while back on Sound Session and every time we ran it, people called in to find out who it was.  Well now you get some visuals to answer all your questions.  LOL @ the Apple ethering at the end.  PC4LIFE son.

AC – “New Soul”

Check out more from AC on his MySpace.

Tags: , , , , ,