Sound Session #528 (7/26/15)

Posted in Episodes, Sound Session on August 24th, 2015 by Hyphen


Back once again, it’s the incredible…

Ok, ok, thanks for bearing with us as we dealt with some technical difficulties and the constant distraction that is real life.  We’ve made the switch from SoundCloud (RIP) to Mixcloud for the streams, and we’re now hosting the downloads via Box.  We’ve been hustling these archives since the days of 25 download limits from YouSendIt, so we’ll see how long these two options last.  Then it’ll be on to the next one…

The bottom line is…SNSS archives are back and the music is doper than ever.  As we catch up, the tracks are a little older (a month behind SNSS means the rest of the industry is only about 6 months away from playing some of these artists/tracks), but still great.

Hope you enjoy tuning in, starting with episode #528 featuring Illa J, Jay Rock, PRhyme, Gangrene, Elzhi, Sol, Little Simz, Melat, Omen, J. Cole, Ta-ku, Alina Baraz, Chali 2na, The Internet, and many more.  Plus, J. Moore was joined in studio by P-Lo from the Bay area.

Show #528 (7-26-15)

1.    Moka Only ft. Grand Puba – “More Rugged” (Local Music)
2.    Illa J – “Universe”
3.    Jay Rock – “Gumbo”
4.    Meek Mill ft. Swizz Beatz & Jeremih – “Classic”
5.    PRhyme (DJ Premier & Royce Da 5’9”) ft. Logic – “Mode”
6.    Gangrene (Alchemist & Oh No) ft. Action Bronson – “Driving Gloves”
7.    Slaughterhouse – “R.N.S.”
8.    Junia-T ft. Jessie Reyez – “We Got This”
10.    Kool John ft. P-Lo – “Blue Hunnids”
11.    Markis Precise ft. Elzhi & Fashawn – “Kiss The Ring”
12.    Chali 2na ft. Laid Law – “Brotherly Love”
13.    Cypress Hill – “I Ain’t Goin’ Out Like That” (Throwback of the Week)
14.    Vince Staples ft. Snoh Aalegra – “Jump Off The Roof”
15.    Substantial & Algorythm ft. Wayna – “Lasting Impression”
16.    SISTERS ft. Sol – “Back 2 U (Zillas Remix)” (Local Music)
17.    Little Simz – “Sit Tight”
18.    The Internet – “Girl”
19.    SMS (Malice & Mario Sweet & Shelby Poole) – “Superstar (Vitamin D Remix)” (Local Music)
20.    Melat – “Sexy Us”
21.    Janet Jackson ft. J. Cole – “No Sleeep (Remix)”
22.    Omen ft. J. Cole – “Things Change”
23.    JR & PH7 ft. Eric Biddines – “Barriers”
24.    Jesse Boykins III – “A Great Idea”
25.    Your Old Droog – “Have A Nice Day”
26.    Anik Khan – “Nomad Man”
27.    Ta-ku ft. Alina Baraz – “Down For You”
28.    Gallant – “Weight In Gold”

Stream via Mixcloud:

Download via Box –

If you’d like to be added to our weekly email list to receive the playlist and stream/download links after every show, just shoot me an email,

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Sound Session #527 (7/19/15)

Posted in Episodes, Sound Session on August 9th, 2015 by Hyphen


I know we’ve been delayed on getting SNSS archives up for y’all, but man…technology has been letting us down lately.  As a result, we don’t have a copy of episode #527 and we can only share the playlist below.  Shame, as the music was fire.

More importantly, the switch to SoundCloud that allowed us to easily share the archives has proven to be fool’s gold, as they’ve started pulling DJ mixes from their service.  I’ve had to turn all our mixes up there to private, so you won’t be able to find them anymore.  Unless something changes with their policies, we’re searching for a new home for our archives.  Looks like we might move things over to Mixcloud, so hopefully y’all don’t mind their interface.  More to come soon…

Show #527 (7-19-15)

1.    Thundercat – “Them Changes”
2.    Illa J – “Universe”
3.    Little Simz ft. Josh Arce, Tilla, & Chuck20 – “Guess Who”
4.    Warren G ft. Nate Dogg – “My House”
5.    Skyzoo – “Everything’s For Sale”
6.    Jay Rock – “Gumbo”
7.    Your Old Droog – “We Don’t Know You”
8.    Ryan Caraveo – “Eat” (Local Music)
9.    Moka Only ft. Grand Puba – “More Rugged” (Local Music)
10.    ASAP Rocky ft. Kanye West & Joe Fox – “Jukebox Joints”
11.    Anik Khan – “Shadows”
12.    Goodie Mob – “Cell Therapy” (Throwback of the Week)
13.    Vince Staples ft. Snoh Aalegra – “Jump Off The Roof”
14.    Statik Selektah ft. Joey Badass – “Alone”
15.    Toro y Moi ft. Rome Fortune – “Pitch Black”
16.    SMS (Malice & Mario Sweet & Shelby Poole) – “Thang 4 Ya” (Local Music)
17.    Etienne de Crecy ft. Alex Gopher & Asher Roth – “Smile (Remix)”
18.    The Internet – “Girl”
19.    Ta-ku ft. Alina Baraz – “Down For You”
20.    Jesse Boykins III – “When You Get There”
21.    Lemon – “Better For You”
22.    SPZRKT – “Blind Man”
23.    Usher – “My Baby Just Cares For Me”
24.    Gallant – “Weight In Gold”
25.    Majid Jordan ft. Drake – “My Love”
26.    Raury – “Devil’s Whisper”
27.    Donnie Trumpet & The Social Experiment – “Sunday Candy”

No archive of SNSS #527 available.

If you’d like to be added to our weekly email list to receive the playlist and stream/download links after every show, just shoot me an email,

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Sound Session – Show #496 (12-14-14)

Posted in Episodes, Sound Session on December 17th, 2014 by Hyphen


Sunday Night Sound Session has been on air for almost 10 years and we’ve archived every single episode online, but we’ve always looked for a good distribution solution. Soundcloud made some licensing changes lately that allows us to utilize their platform for streaming/downloading full episodes of the show. After doing some testing, I think this should work and help you guys enjoy the show much easier each week. No weird download sites, full functionality with all your devices (the Soundcloud app is a must for mobile/tablet), and one centralized location for our episodes and interviews going forward. Most importantly, it should allow more people to discover all the great music that’s out there right now so we can support these artists and they can continue to create!

On this week’s show, we played new tracks from artists like Joey Badass, Termanology, Michael Christmas, Astro, Tunji Ige, Saigon, J. Cole, Coultrain, Tuxedo, Anthony Hamilton, Your Old Droog, Electric Wire Hustle, Lion Babe, salute, Tink, and the loooooooong awaited return of D’Angelo. Plus, we were joined in studio by Malice & Mario Sweet to debut Malice’s new solo song, “Try You,” produced by Jake One. Great stuff all night…


Show #496 (12-14-14)

1.    Joey Bada$$ – “No. 99”
2.    Termanology ft. Michael Christmas & Astro – “I’m Good”
3.    PRhyme (Royce Da 5’9” & DJ Premier) ft. Jay Electronica – “To Me, To You”
4.    Big K.R.I.T. ft. Lupe Fiasco – “Lost Generation”
5.    De La Soul ft. Chuck D – “The People”
6.    Saigon – “Let’s Get Smart”
7.    J. Cole – “Apparently”
8.    Common ft. Sadat X – “1-9-9-9” (Throwback of the Week)
10.    D’Angelo and the Vanguard – “Sugah Daddy”
11.    Coultrain – “Let’s Pretend It’ll Last”
13.    Malice Sweet – “Try You” (Local Music)
14.    Tuxedo (Mayer Hawthorne & Jake One) – “Wonderful Christmastime” (Local Music)
16.    Anthony Hamilton – “What Do The Lonely Do At Christmas”
17.    Bop Alloy (Substantial & Marcus D) – “Spent” (Local Music)
18.    Your Old Droog – “The ‘70s”
19.    Electric Wire Hustle – “Loveless”
20.    salute ft. Vanessa Elisha – “So Cool”
21.    Lion Babe – “Jungle Lady”
22.    Tink ft. Charlamagne Tha God – “Around The Clock”
23.    Fabolous – “Lituation”
24.    Tunji Ige ft. Wonda – “Day 2 Day”

Link to download/stream the mp3 of the show –
(back up –

If there are any problems with the links or if you’d like to be added to our weekly email list to receive the playlist and download links after every show, just shoot me an email,

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,