Sound Session #178 (10-26-08)

Posted in Episodes, Sound Session on October 27th, 2008 by Hyphen


WARNING. WARNING. We are now one week away from the most important day for the United States that any of us have lived through.  Are you ready to vote on Nov. 4th and turn this country around?

If you’ve listened to any episode of Sound Session or read a few blog posts here on TAOD, you know that I’m taking this election very seriously.  I hope the rest of you are too, because we simply can’t afford another 4 years of the same failed policies both home and abroad that we’ve witnessed during Bush’s disgraceful presidency.  We didn’t talk too much about the election on the latest episode of SNSS, mainly because I’m saving that for next week’s show on the 2nd.  Oooh boy, you hip-hop republicans will hate that one…

This past show featured our normal mix of dope music from people like Black Milk, Evidence, Kardinal Offishall, Q-Tip, Shad, Foreign Exchange, and more.  Plus we ran Kanye’s emotional ode to his mom, Joe Budden’s reworking of that Coldplay track I’ve been telling everyone to rhyme over, one of the standout tracks from the exceptional new album from The Knux, and more.

We also had Brainstorm of Dyme Def and Twixx of the world famous Massive Monkees crew come through to talk about the International B-Boy Championships going down at the Paramount on Saturday.  Dope breaking, DJ’ing, and performances by Dyme Def, B.o.B., and Pacific Division?  Wow.  I’m there.  Cop your tickets here.  Of course, if you were listening live, you could have won free tix to that show and Q-Tip, The Cool Kids, and The Knux too.  But you already knew that…

Show #178 (10-26-08)

  1. Planet Asia & DJ Muggs ft. B-Real – “Lions In The Forest”
  2. Ruste Juxx ft. Lil’ Vic – “Get Up”
  3. The Knux – “Life In A Cage (Electric)”
  5. Jake One ft. M.O.P. – “Gangsta Boy” (Local Artist)
  6. Saigon ft. Lil’ Fame (of M.O.P.) – “WW4”
  7. Black Milk ft. Royce The 5’9” – “Losing Out”
  8. Evidence ft. Phonte, Blu, & Will.I.Am – “For Whom The Bell Tolls”
  10. Kanye West – “Coldest Winter”
  11. Kardinal Offishall – “Nina”
  12. John Legend ft. Andre 3000 – “Green Light (Cook Classics Remix)”
  13. Now On – “The Willows”
  14. Joe Budden – “Sidetracked”
  15. Mos Def – “Life In Marvelous Times”
  16. Sweatshop Union – “Timelines” (Local Artist)
  17. Shad – “Brother (Watching)”
  18. Q-Tip – “Move”
  19. Illa J ft. Affion Crockett – “DFTF”
  20. Diverse – “Escape Earth”
  21. Incise ft. Tunji (of Inverse) – “True Greatness”
  22. Akrish – “No God” (Local Artist)
  23. Foreign Exchange ft. Yahzarah – “If This Is Love”

Link to download the mp3 of the show –
(back up / streaming link – )

If you’d like to be added to our weekly email list to receive the playlist and download links after every show, just shoot me an email,

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,