Sound Session #172 (9-14-08)


One thing we really pride ourselves on with Sound Session is that we don’t only play good hip-hop, we play good music.  To the close minded, this week’s show probably drove you crazy.  For those of you who appreciate innovative approaches to the music we love, definitely check out this episode.  We played a little bit of everything:

  • Straightforward boom bap with Butta Verses’ ridiculously dope “If I Die” and our homey Jake One’s track “Glow” with Elzhi and Royce The 5’9″.
  • Dope laid back joints by Illa J, Devin The Dude, and Pacific Division.
  • A nod to the past with Raphael Saadiq’s Motown inspired “Oh Girl.”
  • A glimpse at the future of pop, R&B, and hip-hop with Kardinal Offishall‘s “Digital Motown” (also produced by Jake), Janelle Monae‘s epic “Many Moons,” Kanye’s “Love Lockdown,” and the new single, “Daykeeper,” from Foreign Exchange.

And speaking of Foreign Exchange, we aired that interview with Phonte from last week’s Rock The Bells stop in Washington and had some international guests, Cee, Bekah, & Notion, come through all the way from Australia!  We brought it home with new tracks from local artists Shyan Selah and Ike James (feat. Jadakiss and Jazze Pha), and Shyan also joined us live in the studio.  Lastly, if you’re from the town and didn’t listen, you missed a chance to get tickets for the N.E.R.D. & Common show on Thursday.  Stop sleepin’, you gotta listen!

Show #172 (9-14-08)

  1. Illa J ft. Guilty Simpson – “R U Listenin’”
  2. Devin The Dude – “I Can’t Make It Home”
  3. Kardinal Offishall ft. J*Davey – “Digital Motown”
  4. Johnson&Jonson (Blu & Mainframe) – “WoW!”
  5. Janelle Monae – “Many Moons”
  6. The Cool Kids – “Delivery Man”
  8. Shyan Selah – “Hollywood Blvd” (Local Artist)
  9. Raphael Saadiq ft. Jay-Z – “Oh Girl (Remix)”
  10. **INTERVIEW WITH PHONTE #02, PT. 1**
  11. Foreign Exchange ft. Muhsinah – “Daykeeper”
  12. **INTERVIEW WITH PHONTE #02, PT. 2**
  13. Butta Verses ft. Lucian – “If I Die”
  14. Jake One ft. Elzhi & Royce The 5’9” – “Glow” (Local Artist)
  16. Notion ft. Cee & Bekah – “My Crew”
  17. Kanye West – “Love Lockdown”
  18. Pacific Division – “Wake Up”
  19. Ike James ft. Jadakiss & Jazze Pha – “Callin’ Me” (Local Artist)

Link to download the mp3 of the show –
(back up / streaming link – )

Link to download just the interview with Phonte -
(back up / streaming link – )

If you’d like to be added to our weekly email list to receive the playlist and download links after every show, just shoot me an email,

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

5 Responses to “Sound Session #172 (9-14-08)”

  1. Cathy says:

    Great show last night! Thanks!

  2. […] Notion, as they’ve been here touring the States.  Sound Session listeners heard them on our last show, where we talked about their background a bit and what the scene is like down under.  That […]

  3. B Hyphen says:

    Wow, this was an amazing show homie. So many dope songs and a great Phonte interview. Word.

  4. […] DJ Hyphen & J. Moore’s Sunday Sound Sessions – Sunday 14th September 2008 DOWNLOAD […]

Leave a Reply