Sound Session #221 (8-23-09)

Posted in Episodes, Sound Session on August 25th, 2009 by Hyphen

Another fun show this weekend (and another goal and assist for the big homey Didier Drogba, but y’all don’t know about that) with new joints from artists like Wale, Saigon, Drake, Pac Div, Brother Ali, 14KT, Rashid Hadee, Donnis, Kev Brown, K’Naan, Apathy, Phonte, and more.  We were also joined live in studio by “the voice of Sunday Night Sound Session” and one of the nicest MC’s in the town, D. Black.  Since lacing us with the vocals in our sweepers 4 years ago, D and his Sportn’ Life family have established themselves as a force to be reckoned with and when D’s new Ali’Yah project drops, the entire country is sure to take notice.

Be sure to check out the full version of the Slaughterhouse interview below, and you can even watch some highlights on HyphenTV as well.  We chopped it up with Joe Budden, Joell Ortiz, and Royce Da 5’9″ (Crooked I was recording a verse for another artist from Seattle) about everything from the new album, competition within the group, their writing styles, who would be in their own super groups, and much more.  Peep it:

(watch on HyphenTV)

Show #221 (8-23-09)

  1. Wale – “Pretty Girls”
  2. Saigon – “Aye, Aye, Aye”
  3. Drake ft. Nipsey Hussle – “Killer”
  4. Pac Div – “Young Black Male”
  5. Chali 2na ft. Ming Xia – “4 Be Be”
  7. D. Black ft. Marissa – “Yesterday” (Local Music)
  8. Lushlife – “Until The Sun Dies”
  10. Brother Ali – “Fresh Air”
  12. Slaughterhouse – “Cut You Loose”
  13. 14KT – “Black N Gold”
  14. Rashid Hadee – “The Wrong Thangs”
  15. Apathy ft. Phonte – “True Love”
  16. Marc Mac ft. Phonte – “Take A Trip”
  17. Fresh Espresso – “Big Or Small” (Local Music)
  18. Donnis – “Sexytime”
  19. Khingz – “Blaq Han Solo” (Local Music)
  20. K’Naan & J. Period ft. Kardinal Offishall, Steele, & Bajah – “Belly Full”
  21. Kev Brown ft. Kenn Starr, Wayna, Raheem DeVaughn, and Eric Roberson – “The Hennessy Joint”

Link to download the mp3 of the show –
(back up / streaming link –

Link to download the full interview with Slaughterhouse –
(back up / streaming link –

Link to watch part of the Slaughterhouse interview –

If there are any problems with the links or if you’d like to be added to our weekly email list to receive the playlist and download links after every show, just shoot me an email,

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Slaughterhouse was here too

Posted in Artists, Drops on August 15th, 2009 by Hyphen

Interview with Joell, Royce, and Budden (Crooked was recording a feature in the town) coming soon…

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

The Slaughterhouse Rules

Posted in Artists, Comedy, Videos on June 16th, 2009 by Hyphen

Little known, and completely unimportant, fact, this is the first The Real skit that actually made me laugh.  I think the “rewind those 8 bars” part did it for me…pause.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

Black Milk ft. Royce Da 5’9″ – Losing Out (video)

Posted in Artists, Music Videos on February 13th, 2009 by Hyphen

Black Milk and Royce just dropped the visuals for one of the best songs of the past year, “Losing Out,” of Black’s Tronic project.  Just as you’d expect from a Detroit video in the dead of winter, the D is looking real grimy here.  My only complaint is that I would have loved to see the video ride out for the extra minute of the album version where Black absolutely murders the sample.  Perhaps that would have been hard to match with images, but that might be my favorite part of the song itself.  Either way, dopeness.

Shout to the whole D, particular Hex…the most entertaining person to follow on all of Twitter.

Tags: , , , , , ,

Royce The 5’9″ – Bar Exam 2 (mixtape)

Posted in Artists, Mixtapes on September 16th, 2008 by Hyphen

Royce Cover

The long awaited sequel to Royce’s classic Bar Exam mixtape just dropped and I highly recommend you check it out.  I was talking with my man Budo about Royce recently and how when he’s motivated (which is currently is), he’s right there at the very top level for MC’s.  He’s spitting with so much passion right now and his flow is effortless.  Plus, for this project, he recruited a DJ that actually knows how to put together a great mixtape, Green Lantern.  Download this ASAP and Seattle people, remember that Royce will be performing at Nectar on November 19th alongside Grynch and Cancer Rising.

  1. Crazed Madman Intro
  2. Heat to the Streets f. Kid Vishis (prod. Green Lantern)
  3. It’s the New
  4. I’m Me Freestyle
  5. I’m Nice
  6. Gun Music (prod. Green Lantern)
  7. Weatherman f. Sucka Free & Kid Vishis
  8. I’m the Sh*t Fool!!! (Interlude)
  9. We Deep f. Trick Trick (prod. Denaun Porter)
  10. Let the Beat Build Freestyle f. Stretch Money
  11. Royal Flush Freestyle f. Canibus & Elzhi
  12. Jockin My Fresh (prod. Green Lantern)
  13. Gettin Money Freestyle
  14. Gangsta Remix f. Akon (prod. Green Lantern)
  15. Happy Bar Exam 2 f. Marv Won
  16. Ignorant Shit Freestyle
  17. Flow Boy f. Tondalaya
  18. Been Shot Down (prod. Green Lantern)
  19. J-Ro vs. Mike B (Skit)
  20. Kill Em Pt. 2 f. Kid Vishis
  21. Wall Street f. June The Great
  22. Royce Outro

Download here. (right click, save as)

Tags: , , , , ,