Sound Session #343 (1-8-12)

Posted in Episodes, Interviews, Sound Session on January 10th, 2012 by Hyphen

While we technically kicked off 2012 with last week’s “Best of 2011” wrap up, this really felt like our first SNSS of the new year.  I don’t really have too much to say, other than the music is dope as always, our homies Kooley High called in to the show, and the Drake/Common “beef” has me like this.

But yeah…enjoy the show!

Show #343 (1-8-12)

  1. Skillz – “Rap Up 2011”
  2. Common – “Raw (How You Like It)”
  3. Rick Ross ft. Drake & French Montana – “Stay Schemin’”
  4. Action Bronson & Statik Selektah – “White Silk”
  5. B.o.B ft. Andre 3000 – “Play The Guitar”
  6. Brother Ali – “Writer’s Block”
  7. Snoop Dogg & Wiz Khalifa ft. Mike Posner – “French Inhale”
  8. Sol – “Stage Dive” (Local Music)
  9. Blu & Exile – “The Only One”
  10. Homeboy Sandman – “The Miracle”
  11. Jean Grae – “U & Me & Everyone We Know”
  12. Drake – “Cameras”
  13. Summer Leather Vest – “Unison”
  14. The Weeknd – “Montreal”
  15. AD ft. Dice – “Reality Check” (Local Music)
  16. Ghostface Killah ft. Fred Da Godson & JD Era – “Luxury Rap”
  17. The Kid Daytona – “Done Done It”
  19. Kooley High ft. Skyzoo – “For The Record”
  20. Pete Rock & CL Smooth – “Straighten It Out” (Throwback of the Week)
  21. Benni B – “I Won’t Crash” (Local Music)
  22. Childish Gambino – “Hold You Down”
  23. Gotye ft. Kimbra – “Somebody That I Used To Know”

Link to download the mp3 of the show –
(back up / streaming link –
(2nd back up –

Link to download just the interview with Kooley High –
(back up / streaming link –

If there are any problems with the links or if you’d like to be added to our weekly email list to receive the playlist and download links after every show, just shoot me an email,

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

Kooley High ft. HaLo – Atmosphere (video)

Posted in Artists, Music Videos on September 22nd, 2011 by Hyphen

The Kooley High homies have released a video for my favorite track off Eastern Standard Time, which means SNSS listeners should remember it from when it first dropped.  The beat is too smooth, though I can’t help but hear that Q-Tip sample and want to listen to “Find A Way”…

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Kooley High ft. Median – Somethin’ Outta Nothin’ (video)

Posted in Artists, Music Videos on March 23rd, 2011 by Hyphen

New fire from the Kooley High homies featuring a Median sighting! These guys make some of my favorite music out right now…

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Kooley High – Ya Time’s Up (video)

Posted in Artists, Music Videos on August 28th, 2010 by Hyphen

The Kooley High homies are back with the first visuals off their new project, Eastern Standard Time, which I highly recommend you download here.  I could listen to joints like this all day…

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Kooley High – Kooley Is High (video)

Posted in Artists, Music Videos on August 6th, 2009 by Hyphen

The amount of dope MC’s that have come from North (and South) Carolina since 2000 has been incredible.  I remember those Napster days where after discovering Little Brother, I kept branching out and finding related artists, all of which were killing it.  From LB to the Justus League to TheThyrDay to Supastition, etc., and the latest group to really carry the NC torch is Kooley High.

They’ve been favorites of mine for a few years and they just dropped the visuals for the title track off their recent mixtape.  If you haven’t peeped the tape yet, grab it here and stop sleepin…

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Kooley High – Kooley Is High (mixtape)

Posted in Artists, Mixtapes on March 10th, 2009 by Hyphen

One of my favorite crews out, Kooley High, just dropped this brand new mixtape in conjunction with K-Salaam and  Listening to this group reminds me of the good ol’ days in college when I discovered their North Carolina predecessors, Little Brother & TheThyrDay.  Just dope, genuine hip-hop from the soul by some cool ass folks…the exact kind of hip-hop that I love listening to.  You can’t beat it.  Shout to the whole Kooley fam – Charlie Smarts, Rapsody, Foolery, Tab-One, Sinopsis, & Digitz…

1. Intro(ducing)
2. Gettin’ Up (Remix)
3. Daykeeper (Kooley High Remix)
4. Phonte’s Movie in a Minute
5. Stay Up (Young N’ Fresh Remix) feat. HaLo
6. Flow Glow (Kooley High Remix)
7. I’m Fresh (Remix)
8. Due Process (Kooley High Remix)
9. G Building (Foolery Koolery High Remix)
10. Bodega (HaLo Remix)
11. Jacques Cousteau
12. Kooley is High
13. Soldier (Kooley High Remix)
14. Rude Bwoy
15. The Next Episode (Foolery’s Fooldogg Remix)
16. Trix (1983 Kooley High Remix)
17. The Light (Outro)
18. Worldwide (BONUS TRACK)

Download here.

Tags: , , , , , ,