Sound Session #246 (2-14-10)

Posted in Interviews, Sound Session, Sports on February 15th, 2010 by Hyphen

Ok, I tried to hold out.  I watched the opening ceremony for the Winter Olympics and aside from a few cool moments, I concluded that it was far inferior to Beijing’s pageantry a few years earlier (though my Canadian friend astutely pointed out, “at least ours was real“).  I thought the lack of an electric superstar that the summer games seem filled with wouldn’t hold my attention.  And while Kanye is probably constructing a blog post about the figure skating outfits as we speak, it’s safe to say us sports lovers don’t usually get too involved with ballet on ice.  Besides, with it being NBA All-Star Weekend, Valentine’s Day, and my birthday all rolled into one, there was no way that I’d get wrapped up in the Olympics, right?


Even if the sports are questionable at times (curling is actually really interesting…for about 20 minutes) and even if the weather isn’t cooperating, there’s still something incredible about the Olympics.  These athletes spend every waking moment of their lives working towards one moment, and to see them either thrive or fail with such high stakes at play is riveting.  Plus, I know a lot of sports fans cringe at the “puff pieces” that NBC packages with the Games, but eff it, I like ’em.  If you watched the report on Alexandre Bilodeau‘s handicapped brother and didn’t root for him to win Canada’s first gold on home soil, you have no soul.  His run in the moguls was the most exciting, and fulfilling, part of the whole weekend, hands down.  Well, aside from this week’s Sound Session of course.

Check out the latest episode featuring new music from Cypress Hill, Nas & Damian Marley, Erykah Badu, Janelle Monae, Nneka, B.o.B, El Prez, and more, plus a special Throwback for those who may not have had the Valentine’s Day they were after.  Enjoy:

Show #246 (2-14-10)

  1. Emilio Rojas ft. Styles P & Asher Roth – “Bold & Arrogant (Remix)”
  2. Method Man, Ghostface Killah, & Raekwon – “Our Dreams”
  3. Cypress Hill – “It Ain’t Nothin’”
  4. Madlib & Guilty Simpson – “American Dream & Future (OJ Simpson Remix)”
  5. Kooley High ft. Median – “Solitude”
  6. El Prez – “Burger Time”
  7. Nas & Damian Marley – “Strong Will Continue”
  8. Freeway & Jake One ft. Raekwon – “One Thing” (Local Music)
  9. Blue Scholars – “Michelle Malkin” (Local Music)
  10. Marv Won – “The Way It Goes”
  11. Sean Price – “Figure Four”
  12. No Clue – “Ima Mash” (Local Music)
  13. Consequence – “Sounds G.O.O.D. 2 Me”
  14. B.o.B – “Down For Y’all”
  15. Erykah Badu – “Window Seat”
  16. AB ft. Black Milk – “Reppin’ For You”
  17. Rhymefest ft. Phonte – “Say Wassup”
  18. Janelle Monae ft. Big Boi – “Tightrope”
  19. D’Angelo – “One Mo’Gin” (Throwback of the Week)
  20. H.O.P.E. – “Me&Her”
  21. Nneka – “Come With Me”

Link to download the mp3 of the show –
(back up / streaming link –
(2nd back up –

If there are any problems with the links or if you’d like to be added to our weekly email list to receive the playlist and download links after every show, just shoot me an email,

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,