El Prez ft. FCC – Floss Angeles (video)

Posted in Artists, Music Videos on July 7th, 2009 by Hyphen

Ok, fine.  File this under “Things That Make Hyphen Miss Los Angeles.”  Shout to the IE and the 909.  5-C’s like what.

Take a tour of LA from the comfort of ya own home as u ride with El Prez and The Fresh Coast Collective aka the FCC, featuring a who’s who of LA upcoming talent in this rap “renaissance” we got poppin over here, and produced by Axel…it’s the Soundtrack to an Endless Summer!

Off his upcoming project, “Animal Style!”, a (2)DopeBoyz Presentation in conjunction with IM-King Clothing and more, rapper El Prez is giving people a taste of what LA has to offer with the perfect soundtrack for the summer. Produced by Axel, “Floss Angeles” features fellow FCC rappers Convinced, Dale Danja, DNEZ, Chris Focus, and C-San, who along with El Prez, act as “guides” for these Hip hop tourists…consider it “how to survive in south central” 09!

To commemorate the video release, Ek5obition Clothing will relase a Limited Edition “Floss Angeles” T-shirt with the launch of their online store August 2009. Check Ek5obition.com and Eazeest.com for more info.

Shout to Reggie Reagor on the director credit too.  Great job fellas.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

Sound Session #191 (1-25-09)

Posted in Episodes, Sound Session on January 27th, 2009 by Hyphen


Yes y’all, back once again with the latest edition of SNSS.  The recession might be wreaking havoc throughout the economic sector and causing layoffs like crazy (even at our parent company), but we just keep it moving steadily towards show #200 and our 4 year anniversary.  Imagine that.  We’ve been on the air longer than some of y’all went to college.  Zing.

On this week’s show, J returned from his trip to JamRock and regaled us with tales that will make everyone in the NW remember why our winters suck.  Musically, we dipped across genres and played joints from Q-Tip, Jazzanova, Passion Pit, Jay-Z, Shad, Adele, Common, and more.  Plus we had one of our strongest lineups for local music with tracks from the Blue Scholars, Dyme Def, and Framework.  Just to top it off, we debuted Convinced’s “Mass Appeal 2009 (Remix)” a few hours before it hit the blogosphere.  Good times & good music.  It’s what we do.

Show #191 (1-25-09)

  1. Q-Tip – “Won’t Trade”
  2. The Knux – “Fire”
  3. MF Doom – “Genuine Ballskin”
  4. Jadakiss – “Can’t Stop Me”
  5. Dyme Def – “Cheers” (Local Artist)
  6. Termanology – “Circulate Freestyle (100 Bars)”
  7. Shad – “Nowadays”
  8. Jay-Z ft. Santogold – “Brooklyn Go Hard (DJ Green Lantern Remix)”
  9. Evidence ft. Alchemist & Fashawn – “Far Left”
  10. Jay Electronica ft. Che Grand – “Hagler”
  11. Framework – “The Route We Chose” (Local Artist)
  12. Common ft. Chester French – “What A World”
  13. Passion Pit – “Sleepyhead”
  14. Anjulie – “Boom”
  15. Adele ft. Naledge (of Kidz In The Hall) – “First Love (Remot Remix)”
  16. Blu – “Vanity (DeathOfAStar) pt.One”
  17. Blue Scholars – “Coffee & Snow” (Local Artist)
  18. Inverse – “Rise & Shine”
  19. Convinced ft. Shawn Jackson, Tunji (of Inverse), & El Prez – “Mass Appeal 2009 (Remix)” (WORLD PREMIERE)
  20. Focus ft. Royce The 5’9”, Phonte (of Little Brother), & Stat Quo – “Homage To Premier”
  21. El Prez – “Hammerman”
  22. Colin Munroe ft. Joell Ortiz – “Piano Lessons”
  23. Blaq Poet – “Ain’t Nuttin’ Changed”
  24. Jazzanova ft. Phonte (of Little Brother) – “Look What You’re Doin’ To Me”
  25. Kanye West – “Street Lights”

Link to download the mp3 – http://www.mediafire.com/?m2m5dtht4o0
(back up / streaming link – http://www.zshare.net/audio/547246749228a555/ )

If there are any problems with the links or if you’d like to be added to our weekly email list to receive the playlist and download links after every show, just shoot me an email, DJHyphen@gmail.com.

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Convinced ft. Shawn Jackson, Tunji, & El Prez – Mass Appeal 2009 (Remix)

Posted in Artists, Joints on January 27th, 2009 by Hyphen

After you peep Prezzo’s story behind this dope track (that I believe I world premiered on SNSS last night), be sure you download it.  Shouts to everyone involved – Convinced, E-Dub, Shawn Jack, Prez, and of course the big homey Tunj.

Convinced ft. Shawn Jackson, Tunji, and El Prez – “Mass Appeal 2009 (Remix)”

Hit up the fellas at WhatEyeThought and download Convinced’s Refreshing project right here.  FCC like what.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

Convinced – Miss Memory (director’s cut) (video)

Posted in Artists, Music Videos on December 18th, 2008 by Hyphen

I’ve been meaning to post up this joint for a while now, cause I’ve been playing it a ton over the past month.  I love this track.  Convinced is yet another dope MC from the new breed of Los Angeles artists, who are killing everything they touch these days.  Speaking of Cali, this joint really reminds me of my college days…for many reasons.  Peep it and then go download Convinced’s Refreshing project on his blog right here.

Shout to Eighties Baby as well!

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,