Sound Session #528 (7/26/15)

Posted in Episodes, Sound Session on August 24th, 2015 by Hyphen


Back once again, it’s the incredible…

Ok, ok, thanks for bearing with us as we dealt with some technical difficulties and the constant distraction that is real life.  We’ve made the switch from SoundCloud (RIP) to Mixcloud for the streams, and we’re now hosting the downloads via Box.  We’ve been hustling these archives since the days of 25 download limits from YouSendIt, so we’ll see how long these two options last.  Then it’ll be on to the next one…

The bottom line is…SNSS archives are back and the music is doper than ever.  As we catch up, the tracks are a little older (a month behind SNSS means the rest of the industry is only about 6 months away from playing some of these artists/tracks), but still great.

Hope you enjoy tuning in, starting with episode #528 featuring Illa J, Jay Rock, PRhyme, Gangrene, Elzhi, Sol, Little Simz, Melat, Omen, J. Cole, Ta-ku, Alina Baraz, Chali 2na, The Internet, and many more.  Plus, J. Moore was joined in studio by P-Lo from the Bay area.

Show #528 (7-26-15)

1.    Moka Only ft. Grand Puba – “More Rugged” (Local Music)
2.    Illa J – “Universe”
3.    Jay Rock – “Gumbo”
4.    Meek Mill ft. Swizz Beatz & Jeremih – “Classic”
5.    PRhyme (DJ Premier & Royce Da 5’9”) ft. Logic – “Mode”
6.    Gangrene (Alchemist & Oh No) ft. Action Bronson – “Driving Gloves”
7.    Slaughterhouse – “R.N.S.”
8.    Junia-T ft. Jessie Reyez – “We Got This”
10.    Kool John ft. P-Lo – “Blue Hunnids”
11.    Markis Precise ft. Elzhi & Fashawn – “Kiss The Ring”
12.    Chali 2na ft. Laid Law – “Brotherly Love”
13.    Cypress Hill – “I Ain’t Goin’ Out Like That” (Throwback of the Week)
14.    Vince Staples ft. Snoh Aalegra – “Jump Off The Roof”
15.    Substantial & Algorythm ft. Wayna – “Lasting Impression”
16.    SISTERS ft. Sol – “Back 2 U (Zillas Remix)” (Local Music)
17.    Little Simz – “Sit Tight”
18.    The Internet – “Girl”
19.    SMS (Malice & Mario Sweet & Shelby Poole) – “Superstar (Vitamin D Remix)” (Local Music)
20.    Melat – “Sexy Us”
21.    Janet Jackson ft. J. Cole – “No Sleeep (Remix)”
22.    Omen ft. J. Cole – “Things Change”
23.    JR & PH7 ft. Eric Biddines – “Barriers”
24.    Jesse Boykins III – “A Great Idea”
25.    Your Old Droog – “Have A Nice Day”
26.    Anik Khan – “Nomad Man”
27.    Ta-ku ft. Alina Baraz – “Down For You”
28.    Gallant – “Weight In Gold”

Stream via Mixcloud:

Download via Box –

If you’d like to be added to our weekly email list to receive the playlist and stream/download links after every show, just shoot me an email,

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Sound Session #387 (11-11-12)

Posted in Episodes, Sound Session on November 13th, 2012 by Hyphen

New music on this week’s SNSS from the likes of Fabolous, JR & PH7, Phonte, Median, Harry Fraud, Forte Bowie, Apollo Brown, Guilty Simpson, Emilio Rojas, Don’t Talk To The Cops, Fiona Apple, Quartermaine, MeLo-X, Marz Lovejoy, The Weeknd, Toro y Moi, Sean Price, and more.  Plus, the homey Mr. MFN eXquire checked in to talk about his new Power and Passion EP and debut one of his tracks off it.

Lastly, if you missed the video of our interview with Juicy J, you can check that out right here.  We chatted with the trippy one about life on tour, his favorite city to perform in, linking up with Wiz Khalifa and the Taylor Gang, his upcoming Stay Trippy project, the success of “Bandz A Make Her Dance,” a possible return to Hollywood, and more.

Enjoy the show and interview!

Show #387 (11-11-12)

  1. Fabolous – “For The Love”
  2. JR & PH7 ft. Phonte & Median – “Goodbye”
  3. Harry Fraud ft. French Montana & Action Bronson – “Mean”
  4. Forte Bowie – “Impala”
  5. Apollo Brown & Guilty Simpson – “Reputation”
  6. Sean Price – “Hush”
  7. Ghostface Killah, M.O.P., & Pharoahe Monch – “Black Out”
  8. Emilio Rojas – “Ice Cream 2K12”
  9. Don’t Talk To The Cops – “I’m @ The Ocean Kid” (Local Music)
  10. Cypress Hill – “Hand On The Pump” (Throwback of the Week)
  11. Kendrick Lamar ft. MC Eiht – “m.A.A.d. city”
  13. Mr. MFN eXquire – “Cari Zalloni”
  14. Gilbere Forte – “Pray”
  15. Fiona Apple ft. MeLo-X – “Every Single Night (MeLo-X APT Basement God Mix)”
  16. Nissim, Fatal Lucciauno, Spaceman, & Larry Hawkins – “Tell Me” (Local Music)
  17. Quartermaine – “War Of The Roses”
  18. Toro y Moi ft. Hodgy Beats – “So Many Details (Remix)”
  19. Marz Lovejoy – “DOLO”
  20. The Weeknd – “Twenty Eight”
  21. Peta Tosh – “I Wonder” (Local Music)
  22. TiRon & Ayomari ft. beatnich – “Lot On Your Mind”
  23. Kanye West – “White Dress”

Link to download the mp3 of the show –
(back up / streaming link –
(2nd back up –

If there are any problems with the links or if you’d like to be added to our weekly email list to receive the playlist and download links after every show, just shoot me an email,

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

Crown Royale – Say What (video)

Posted in Artists, Music Videos on July 30th, 2011 by Hyphen

My guys Buff1 and DJ Rhettmatic recently released visuals for “Say What” off their collaborative Crown Royale album (criminally slept on, by the way).  Buff’s been one of my favorite MC’s for years…ever since I stumbled upon the Athletic Mic League around the turn of the century (thanks Napster!)…and his style is just so dope.  It’s pretty straightforward, but he has that genuine and effortless steez that epitomizes “the MC” in my book.  Good stuff fellas.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,