Sound Session #580 (12/11/16) + Holiday Break

Posted in Episodes, Sound Session on December 18th, 2016 by Hyphen


As would only be fitting with a year like 2016 (gotta be one of the worst for the world in recent memory), we’ve had a string of difficulties broadcasting the show down the stretch.  Even with all the tech advances at our fingertips, doing Sound Session from the road for the last few months has been tricky, so apologies for the hiccups.  This episode is the last one of the year, as we’ll be taking the holiday season off and relaunching in 2017 with our Best of 2016 wrap up show.

In the meantime, here’s episode #580 featuring new music from artists like Common, The Roots, J. Cole, Smino, Rapsody + Raphael Saadiq, Azad, The Weeknd, Run The Jewels, Raleigh Ritchie, BJ The Chicago Kid, Tom Bailey, R.LUM.R, John Legend + Miguel, and more.  We even ran a little UK block with Wiley, AJ Tracey + MJ Cole, and Donae’O + Jme + Dizzee Rascal, then dipped back 20 years for a classic Redman throwback.

Enjoy the music and the holiday season with you and yours.  See you again in the new year!

Show #580 (12/11/16)

1. Common ft. Gucci Mane, Pusha T, & BJ The Chicago Kid – “Black America Again (Remix)”
2. The Roots ft. Common & Ingrid Michaelson – “Who Tells Your Story”
3. J. Cole – “False Prophets”
4. J. Cole – “Déjà Vu”
5. Ryan Caraveo – “Ten Times” (Local Music)
6. Smino – “blkswn”
7. Framework – “It’z Nuthin’” (Local Music)
8. Rapsody ft. Raphael Saadiq – “Gonna Miss You”
9. Run The Jewels – “Talk To Me”
10. Wiley – “Can’t Go Wrong”
11. MJ Cole & AJ Tracey – “The Rumble”
12. Donae’O ft. Jme & Dizzee Rascal – “Black”
13. Like – “Leanin’”
14. Redman – “Pick It Up” (Throwback of the Week)
15. Kung Foo Grip x SCLY – “Locked” (Local Music)
16. Azad – “Sweet”
17. The Weeknd – “Rockin’”
18. Bruno Mars – “Chunky”
19. Topaz Jones – “Howlin’ To The Moon”
20. Childish Gambino ft. JD McCrary – “Terrified”
21. Raleigh Ritchie – “Unicron Loev”
22. Jorja Smith – “Imperfect Circle”
23. Khalid – “Reasons”
24. John Legend ft. Miguel – “Overload”
25. BJ The Chicago Kid – “Uncle Marvin”
26. Tom Bailey – “Light vs. Darkness”
27. R.LUM.R – “Frustrated”

Link to download –

If you’d like to be added to our weekly email list to receive the playlist and stream/download links after every show, just shoot me an email,

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Sound Session #447 (1-5-14)

Posted in Episodes, Sound Session on January 12th, 2014 by Hyphen


Here’s the first SNSS episode of 2014, featuring new music from Hov, Drake, Oddisee, Jamall Bufford, BJ The Chicago Kid, Elle Varner, Audio Push, Fabolous, 7 Days Of Funk, The Lox, Pro Era, Tinashe, Bridget Kelly, Vampire Weekend, and more.  If you missed our Best of 2013 wrap up, click here.

In other news, as I type this, we’re a 2nd half away from the Broncos beating the Chargers and setting up an epic weekend of Seahawks/49ers and Patriots/Broncos matchups to determine the Super Bowl.  Can’t wait!

Show #447 (1-5-14)

  1. Rick Ross ft. Jay-Z – “The Devil Is A Lie”
  2. B.o.B – “Paper Route”
  3. V. Dot ft. Louis V – “Town Biz” (Local Music)
  4. Drake – “Trophies”
  5. Shelton Harris & Tyler Dopps – “No Gods” (Local Music)
  6. Oddisee – “Invisible Walls”
  7. Jamall Bufford ft. Magestik Legend – “Travel Light”
  8. Nemo Achida ft. BJ The Chicago Kid – “Hands On”
  9. BJ The Chicago Kid ft. Jerreau – “My New Christmas List”
  10. Elle Varner ft. Wale – “Rover”
  11. Fabolous – “Cuffin Season”
  12. Audio Push – “Shine”
  13. 7 Days of Funk (Dam-Funk & Snoop Dogg) – “Let It Go”
  14. Malice & Mario Sweet – “Celebration” (Local Music)
  15. The Lox – “Love Me Or Leave Me Alone”
  16. Outkast ft. Goodie Mob – “Git Up, Git Out” (Throwback of the Week)
  17. Joey Bada$$, A La $ole, & Dyemond Lewis – “Sol Luna”
  18. Kidd Upstairs ft. Mistah F.A.B., Gaita, & Hongry – “Nostalgia”
  19. Talib Kweli – “Lover’s Peak”
  20. Tinashe – “Midnight Sun”
  21. Bridget Kelly – “Coca1n3 Heartbreak”
  22. Jhene Aiko ft. Kendrick Lamar – “Stay Ready (What A Life)”
  23. Vampire Weekend ft. Danny Brown, Heems, & Despot – “Step (Remix)”
  24. A$AP Mob ft. A$AP Nast & Method Man – “Trillmatic”
  25. MeLo-X – “Break From Flatbush”
  26. Childish Gambino – “3005”

Link to download/stream the mp3 of the show –
(back up –
(2nd back up –

If there are any problems with the links or if you’d like to be added to our weekly email list to receive the playlist and download links after every show, just shoot me an email,

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Gordon Gartrell Radio – Episode 11

Posted in Artists, Radio on January 29th, 2009 by Hyphen


Damn, this came out of nowhere.  Brainchild and Phonte haven’t recorded an episode of GGR in a minute, but it’s back just in time for Tay to drop his thoughts on the upcoming year.  Plus, Brainchild kills the mix…as always.

  1. DJ Day “Four Hills”
  2. Daru & Rena “Things You Do”
  3. Ed O.G. & The Bulldogs “Bug-A-Boo”
  4. Shawn Jackson “Fix Ya Face”
  5. Sa-Ra “High Life”
  6. Portishead “Lot More”
  7. Bjork “I Miss You” (Dobie’s Sunshine Mix)
  8. Apple Juice Kid “A Different Blues”
  9. Fat Jon “Tell Me”
  10. The Foreign Exchange “Take Off The Blues”
  11. Ron Browz “Pop Champagne”
  12. Q-Tip “Dance On Glass”
  13. Hueston Independent Spit District “Jus Sayin”
  14. Hi-Gloss “You’ll Never Know”
  15. The Whispers “Keep Your Love Around”
  16. Carl Anderson “Buttercup”
  17. Jermaine Jackson “Where Are You Now”
  18. Prince “My Love Is Forever”
  19. Joey Negro presents The Sunburst Band “Every Day”
  20. Made In Japan “The City At Night”
  21. Musiq Soulchild “Until”
  22. The Pharcyde “She Said” (Jay Dee Remix)
  23. Cunninlynguists “Yellow Lines”
  24. Theophilus London “Cold Pillow” (feat. Jesse Boykins III)

Download here. (right click, save as)

Tags: , , , , , ,