Sound Session #355 (4-1-12)

Posted in Episodes, Sound Session on April 3rd, 2012 by Hyphen

New music on this week’s SNSS from the likes of T.I., Maffew Ragazino, Danny Brown, Mac Miller, OnCue, Yonas Michael, Miguel, Actual Proof, and more.  Plus, the legendary Buckshot of Black Moon and the Boot Camp Clik called in to talk about BCC’s show at The Crocodile that went down Monday night here in Seattle.  Be sure to see the whole crew when they come to your town!

Show #355 (4-1-12)

  1. T.I. – “I Need Dollas”
  2. Big K.R.I.T. – “Temptation”
  3. Maffew Ragazino – “Amaretto Sour”
  4. Danny Brown – “Grown Up”
  5. Steven A. Clark – “Don’t Have You”
  6. BJ The Chicago Kid – “Fly Girl Get’em”
  7. Mac Miller ft. Iman Omari – “Sunlight”
  8. OnCue – “Kinda Late”
  9. Akrish – “Without You” (Local Music)
  10. Action Bronson – “Blue Chips”
  11. Kardinal Offishall – “Kill Shot”
  13. Heltah Skeltah ft. OGC – “Leflaur Leflah Eshkoshka” (Throwback of the Week)
  14. Nas – “The Don”
  15. Busta Rhymes ft. Twista – “Can U Keep Up”
  16. Tope ft. TiRon & Caitlin Cardier – “Midnight” (Local Music)
  17. Yuna – “Live Your Life”
  18. THEESatisfaction – “Bitch” (Local Music)
  19. Yonas Michael – “Jimi 84”
  20. Frank Ocean ft. MeLo-X – “White (MeLo-X Gentrification Mix)”
  21. Reef The Lost Cauze – “The Prey”
  22. Actual Proof – “Black Boy Radio”
  23. Slum Village ft. De La Soul – “Turning Me Off”
  24. Miguel – “…ALL”
  25. Kavinsky ft. Lovefoxxx – “Nightcall”

Link to download the mp3 of the show –
(back up / streaming link –
(2nd back up –

If there are any problems with the links or if you’d like to be added to our weekly email list to receive the playlist and download links after every show, just shoot me an email,

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

David Dallas – The Rose Tint (album)

Posted in Artists, Mixtapes on May 14th, 2011 by Hyphen

David Dallas has traveled all the way from New Zealand to Harlem in order to help spread the word about his music and he just released a free project called The Rose Tint.  Sound Session listeners already know, but for those who have been sleeping, get familiar!  Download below:

Download here.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

KRS-One & Buckshot ft. DJ Revolution – Survival Skills (video)

Posted in Artists, Music Videos on November 26th, 2009 by Hyphen

Newest visuals off KRS & Buck’s group album…Revolution on the cuts.  Looks like the homey Todd Angkasuwan should be working on the next Tron movie too, dope ish!

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Sound Session #225 (9-20-09)

Posted in Artists, Episodes, Sound Session on September 21st, 2009 by Hyphen

Really pressed for time these days, so nothing fancy this week…just the business.

Great music from the likes of Pac Div, One Be Lo, Fashawn, J. Cole, Kam Moye, Othello, The Nope, Kid Cudi, Dynas, Little Dragon, Drake, Anton Genius, and more.  Big shout to the homey El Prez for letting us world premiere his “Victory Lapse” track with Donwill and Von Pea of Tanya Morgan.  Great song.  Shout to Buckshot (and the whole Duck Down fam) as well for calling in this week to talk about his new album with KRS-One.  Cop Survival Skills in stores now!

Show #225 (9-20-09)

  1. Pac Div – “Whiplash”
  2. One Be Lo ft. Mike Posner – “Pigs”
  3. Eclipse ft. BJ – “Still Parker Brothaz” (Local Music)
  4. Fashawn – “Fash Plays It Cool”
  5. Strong Arm Steady ft. Defari – “Get Ya Money Right”
  6. Rashid Hadee – “LA Girls”
  7. Brother Ali ft. Freeway & Joell Ortiz – “Best@it”
  8. Apathy ft. Phonte – “True Love”
  9. Skyzoo – “The Beautiful Decay”
  10. J. Cole – “Lights Please”
  11. Jay-Z – “Thank You”
  12. Othello ft. Now On & Mayer Hawthorne – “Active Balanced (Terry Cole Remix)” (Local Music)
  13. Crown Royale (Buff1 & DJ Rhettmatic) – “We Gotcha”
  14. Ghostface Killah ft. Shareefa – “Not Ur Average Girl”
  15. Anton Genius ft. Naledge, Dominique Larue, Apollo Cain, Truth, & Pugs Atomz – “Gettin’ Up (Remix)”
  16. Consequence ft. Rick Ross – “The More I Get”
  18. KRS-One & Buckshot ft. Naledge & Melanie Fiona – “Past, Present, Future”
  19. Kam Moye – “Blue Skies”
  20. Raekwon ft. Lyfe Jennings – “Catalina”
  21. Dynas ft. DJ Jazzy Jeff – “The Future”
  22. The Nope (Moka Only & Psy) – “Rain All Day” (Local Music)
  23. Drake ft. Nipsey Hussle – “Killer”
  24. **El Prez ft. Donwill & Von Pea (of Tanya Morgan) – “Victory Lapse”** (WORLD PREMIERE)
  25. Kid Cudi – “Sky Might Fall”
  26. Shafiq Husayn ft. Fatima – “Lil Girl”
  27. Little Dragon – “Feather”

Link to download the mp3 of the show –
(back up / streaming link –

If there are any problems with the links or if you’d like to be added to our weekly email list to receive the playlist and download links after every show, just shoot me an email,

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

KRS-One & Buckshot – Robot (video)

Posted in Artists, Music Videos, Sports on July 8th, 2009 by Hyphen

The visuals for the “real death of auto-tune,” KRS & Buck’s “Robot,” just dropped and they do not disappoint one bit.  Dope track + true lyrics + crazy graphics = a smash.  Todd Angkasuwan is really becoming one of the premier directors in the game.  Be on the lookout for Survival Skills dropping on September 15th on Duck Down.  The 206’s own Geologic from the Blue Scholars will be on the record as well!

Now, what’s your favorite robot?  I’ll offer up the hilarious awkwardness of Peter Crouch’s goal celebrations:

So awful hahahaha.

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Sean Price launches Ruck Down Records

Posted in Artists, Comedy, Joints, Videos on June 18th, 2009 by Hyphen

This is too funny.  Shout to all my folks in the video…but damn, why did Sean have to do Blaze like that ahahahaha.  Here’s the track too, courtesy of 2DopeBoyz:

Sean Price – “Ruck Down”


Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

Peter Rosenberg presents A Rosenberg Oddisee (mixtape)

Posted in Artists, Mixtapes on October 29th, 2008 by Hyphen


One of my fellow “real hip-hop heads” on the radio, Peter Rosenberg, linked with Oddisee to whip up this little EP featuring Torae, Skyzoo, Daytona, Saigon, Buckshot, and (the lovely) Nikki Jean.  The concept was simple: all Oddisee beats + dope MC’s + one day to record it all.  I’m sure it was hectic, but it turned out great.  Download link and tracklisting after the jump!

Read more »

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Black Moon’s Biography, Pt. 1 (video)

Posted in Artists, Videos on July 11th, 2008 by Hyphen

We have a lot of younger listeners on Sound Session, as anybody who’s sat in during the show and heard us answer the request line can attest to (i.e. a call for the “Wu-Tang Twins”…sigh), so sometimes I feel like I need to educate some of y’all. If you don’t know much about the legendary Boot Camp Clik, this video will serve as a nice intro for first group to put BCC on the map, Black Moon. Hopefully part two drops soon.

Tags: , , , ,

Talib Kweli, Buckshot, & Pete Rock in NYC

Posted in Artists, Live Performances, Videos on July 11th, 2008 by Hyphen
VIMBY – One Step Beyond: Talib Kweli

Tunji sent over this dope video of Talib (with Hi-Tek!), Buck, and Pete performing at the American Museum of Natural History a few weeks back.  Pete Rosenberg makes a good point – back in the day, who would have thought you’d see hip-hop take over a place like that?  Very ill.

Tags: , , , , , , ,